Abstract Submission:  1st March - 15th July 2018
Pre-Registration:  1st March - 31st August 2018 21st September 2018

* The pre-registration term was extended, and the final deadline is 21st September 2018 !


It is a great pleasure to welcome you, on behalf of the organizing committee, to the 10th International Conference on Microwave Materials and their Applications 2018 (MMA 2018), to be held at Osaka University Nakanoshima Center in Osaka, Japan, from October 1st to 4th, 2018.

This international conference belongs to the series of Microwave Materials and Their Applications (MMA) with previous ones held in Bled‐Slovenia (2000), York‐UK (2002), Inuyama‐Japan (2004), Oulu‐Finland (2006), Hangzhou - China (2008), Warsaw - Poland (2010), Taipei - Taiwan (2012), Boise - USA (2014), and Seoul - Korea (2016).

The main purpose of the conference is to be a forum to continue the great initiative and momentum of the earlier meetings, to strengthen research activities on microwave dielectrics and applications in the world as well, to exchange and share the latest developments in science and technologies of microwave materials and passive devices.

A diverse range of topics from nearfield, satellite and millimeter wave communications, new processes and technologies as well as microwave dielectric and/or magnetic materials to various applications for convenience, safety and health of human are featured in this conference for Smart Life with Convenience, Safety and Health.

Prof. Soshu Kirihara
General Chair of MMA 2018
Osaka University, Japan


General Chair

Soshu Kirihara (Osaka University, Japan)

International Advisory Board

Anatoli Belous (IGIC, Ukraine)
Xiang Ming Chen (Zhejiang University, China)
Chih-Ta Chia (NTNU, Taiwan)
David Cruickshank (Skyworks Solutions, USA)
Peter Davies (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Robert Freer (University of Manchester, UK)
David Iddles (Isotek Microwave Ltd, UK)
Heli Jantunen (University of Oulu, Finland)
Stanislav Kamba (Institute of Physics, Czech)
Akinori Kan (Meijo University, Japan)
Eung Soo Kim (Kyonggi University, Korea)
Jerzy Krupka (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland)
Igor Levin (NIST, USA)
Martin Letz (Schott AG, Germany)
Elizaveta Nenasheva (Giricond Research Institute, Russia)
Nathan Newman (Arizona State University, USA)
Hitoshi Ohsato (Nagoya Industrial Science Research Institute, Japan)
Clare Le Paven (Universite de Rennes, France)
Mailadil Sebastian (University of Oulu, Finland)
Takeshi Shimada (Hitachi Metals Ltd., Japan)
Matjaz Spreitzer
(Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)
Danilo Suvorov (Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)
Rick Ubic (Boise State University, USA)
Hong Wang (Southern Univ. of Sci. & Tech. / Xi'an Jiaotong Univ., China)


Ratiba Benzerga (Universite de Rennes, France)
Jian Jiang Bian (Shanghai University, China)
Xiang Ming Chen (Zhejiang University, China)
Chih-Ta Chia (NTNU, Taiwan)
David Cruickshank (Skyworks Solutions, USA)
Piyi Du (Zhejiang University, China)
Maosen Fu (Northwestern Polytechnic University, China)
Michael Hill
(Skyworks Inc., USA)
David Iddles (Isotek Microwave Ltd., UK)
Yoshihiko Imanaka (Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd., Japan)
Heli Jantunen (University of Oulu, Finland)
Jari Juuti (University of Oulu, Finland)
Akinori Kan
(Meijo University, Japan)
Eung Soo Kim (Kyonggi University, Korea)
Hyo Tae Kim (KICET, Korea)
Taras Kolodiazhnyi
(National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)
Jerzy Krupka (Warsaw Univ. of Technology, Poland)
Lei Li (Zhejiang University, China)
Hua-Tay Lin (Guangdong University of Technology, China)
Zhifu Liu (Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, China)
Yoshitake Masuda (AIST, Japan)
Sahn Nahm (Korea University, Korea)
Elizaveta Nenasheva
(Giricond Research Inst., Russia)
Nathan Newman (Arizona State University, USA)
Hitoshi Ohsato (Nagoya Inst. of Technology, Japan)
Nate Orloff (NIST, USA)
Minoru Osada
(Nagoya University, Japan)
Clare Le Paven
(Universite de Rennes, France)
Robert Pullar (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)
Ian Reaney
(Sheffield University, UK)
Takeshi Shimada (Hitachi Metals Ltd., Japan)
Matjaz Spreitzer
(Jozef Stefan Institute in Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Danilo Suvorov (Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)
Chung-Ya Tsao (Prosperity Dielectric Co Ltd., Taiwan)
Hong Wang (Southern Univ. of Sci. & Tech. / Xi'an Jiaotong Univ., China)
Zhenxing Yue (Tsinghua University, China)
Di Zhou (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)


A. Microwave and Millimeter-wave Materials: Chemistry, physics and structural determination of dielectric, ferroelectric, piezoelectric, ferromagnetic, multiferroic or composite materials and tunable compositions with advantageous properties for microwave applications. Millimeter wave materials for LAN / PAN with non condense high data transfer and radar for anti‐collision system on ETC.

+ Microwave Materials.
+ Millimeter‐wave Materials
+ Fabrication Processes and Technologies
+ Modeling
+ Evaluation Methods
+ Nano Structures and Preparation Methods

B. Applications and Passive Components : Passive components and materials of nearfield, satellite and millimeter wave communications as well as Terahertz applications for convenience, microwave sensing for automotive applications with safety and electronic materials for biomedicine and health of human

+ LTCC Materials and Composites
+ Applications for microwave and millimeterwave dielectrics
+ Tunable Devices
+ SAW and BAW Filters

C. Functional Advances of Microwave Dielectrics

+ Terahertz applications
+ Applications of resonant coupling such as temperature sensor, wireless power transfer
+ Electromagnetic wave absorber
+ Extreme transparency ceramics using isotropic microwave dielectrics
+ Metamaterials and photonics


The conference program can be opened and downloaded by using the following button.



The Wakino Award was established in 2014 to honor and encourage one outstanding researcher each two years at the MMA meeting. The winner are selected by award committee members in International Advisory Board of MMA.



Osaka University Nakanoshima Center map
4-3-53 Nakanoshima Kita-ku, 530-0005 Osaka, Japan
TEL: 06-6444-2100 / FAX: 06-6444-2338


Authors are invited to submit a one-page abstract without graphics as a text document including 200-400 words. Abstracts should be submitted before the 15th July 2018 deadline through the following online submission page.



Presenting authors are invited to submit a written paper for peer review and publication in a special issue of International Journal of Applied Ceramic Technology. Manuscript preparation instructions will be sent to the author with notification. The submission deadline was extended to 2nd November 2018.


Registration Period

Category Date
Pre-registration 1st March - 21st September 2018
On-site Registration 1st - 4th October 2018

Registration Fee

Category Pre-registration On-site Registration
Regular USD 600 USD 650
Student USD 350 USD 400
Accompanying Person USD 300 USD 350

Registration Fee Includes
- Regular & Student: Technical Sessions, Conference Kit, Welcome Reception, Banquet, Lunches
- Accompanying Person: Welcome Reception, Banquet, Lunches



The Organizing Committee has selected hotels for participants of MMA 2018. Could you please visit the following online reservation page for travelers to Japan and find your hotel room? Osaka Kita and Minami Areas are close to the Osaka University Nakanoshima Center.



MMA 2018 is further endorsed by the following societies.

The American Ceramic Society
 The European Ceramic Society
 The Ceramic Society of Japan
The Korean Ceramic Society  Taiwan Ceramic Society

Organizing Committee of MMA 2018